Cox loses Raycom stations in 5 states

Cox Communications said it still hasn't reached a retransmission-consent agreement with Raycom Media, which pulled its stations in five states from the MSO after its contract expired on Dec. 31.

The impasse leaves Cox subscribers in Ohio, Virginia, Florida, Louisiana and Alabama unable to access local TV stations owned by Raycom, including affiliates of CBS and NBC.

Cox spokeswoman Amy Quinn said that Raycom has been demanding that Cox pay a 200 percent increase in retransmission-consent fees. "200 percent is quite a steep increase, especially for programming that is available for free over the air," Quinn told FierceCable Thursday. Cox and Raycom continue to negotiate, she added.

For more:
The Plain Dealer has this story

Related articles:
2012 Year In Review: Cable operators team with DirecTV, Dish to fight broadcasters
Charter signs last-minute retrans deal with LIN TV; still no DirecTV-Gannett agreement